Reporting An Auto Accident In Florida: Here’s What You Should Do
Driving on Florida roads or even anywhere else comes with a risk of getting into a car accident. It is possible to experience a fender bender. In worse cases, it can be a serious crash leading to injuries or even death.
That is why driving comes with a responsibility. It is crucial to always follow laws while on the road. For instance, you have to make sure you and your passengers are wearing seat belts. Do not drive while under the influence of alcohol or other substances. You should also follow all traffic rules and regulations.
Reporting Auto Accidents
As a driver, you need to make sure you are careful at all times. You have to help make roads safer for motorists and pedestrians alike.
However, there are instances when you cannot prevent accidents. That is especially the case if you are not the one at fault. After all, you cannot control how other drivers think and act.
If you ever get in a car accident, the first steps you take are crucial. Many wonder if it is necessary to report the accident or if it is okay to settle with the other driver. If you are unsure, the best option is to report the incident to the authorities.
Generally, motorists must report an accident immediately if an individual suffers from injuries or someone dies. The same rule applies if there is property damage involved and it costs a minimum of $500. Other instances that require reporting are hit and run incidents and accidents due to intoxicated drivers.
That said, you may want to report an accident even if there are no major injuries or damages. It is because a formal report can serve as supporting evidence when you file a claim to your insurance provider.
What You Will Need
Where you report the accident will depend on where it happened. Call local police if it is within a municipality. If not, report it to the county sheriff’s office or the nearest Florida Highway Patrol station.
Requirements also vary. It depends on whether there is an investigation. If a formal investigation was conducted after you report the accident, you will no longer have to file a written report. Otherwise, you will have to file a written report within 10 days after the accident. You will have to submit it to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
Accomplish a Crash Report by providing the following pieces of information:
• Location of the accident
• Time the accident happened
• Names, addresses, birthdays of drivers and pedestrians involved.
• Driver license details of drivers involved
• Drivers’ license plate numbers
• Name and address of auto insurance policyholders and the insurance companies
Consequences of Not Reporting
Failure to report an accident considered reportable can lead to penalties and fines. It is considered a non-moving traffic infraction. If it was not investigated by law enforcement, failure to file a written report can lead to another non-moving traffic infraction.
That said, if you cannot report the accident because of injuries, you will be exempted from the deadline. However, you have to report it immediately once you are able. A passenger that is not injured and is physically able will be responsible for filing and reporting if the driver or car owner cannot.
Auto Accident Lawyer
If you ever get in a car accident in Florida, it is best to contact a lawyer to help you with your case. Call Justice Pays to ensure proper compensation for damages you may incur due to the auto accident.