When Should You Talk To A Car Accident Attorney In Florida?
In Florida, a law was passed by the government 50 years ago in an attempt to reduce the number of potential personal injury lawsuits that might flood—and thus bog down—the courts of the state. That law turned Florida into a “no-fault” state and required that every driver get a special form of insurance called Personal Injury Protection coverage.
More commonly known, PIP is a mandatory form of insurance coverage for injuries that is fixed at $10000. Because Florida is a “no-fault” state, this means that every driver must have PIP because it is their own PIP coverage, not that of the other driver, that pays out in the event costs for medical coverage are required. In other words, unlike other states, where the parties at fault have their insurance companies pay for damage or injury, Florida has drivers use their PIP to pay for their treatment.
While the PIP and “no-fault” concepts can cover a wide variety of car accident injuries without needing to resort to legal action, there are a few instances where the coverage is insufficient. There are three major instances where PIP won’t provide what an accident victim needs.
PIP only covers 80% of medical costs up to $10000. An additional policy such as MedPay or another insurance policy is required for full coverage. However, for very serious injuries, the cost of surgery, rehabilitation, and medical treatment can easily exceed $10000.
In these instances, if an accident victim only has PIP, that means the rest of the cost, even if they are not at fault, comes from their own pocket or another source.
It’s one thing if an injury takes a victim away from work for a while and then requires some treatment and rehabilitation to resume life as it was before. It’s another matter entirely when an injury results in a permanent disability, such as being paraplegic and now requiring the use of a wheelchair or losing sight and being blind.
In many cases, disability may make it impossible for an accident victim to return to their previous occupation. This requires much more than $10000 to offset temporarily lost wages since a career all of its associated income has now come to an end.
Talking to an attorney is never legally required in the aftermath of a car accident. However, the decision to consult an attorney means not making mistakes that can affect a favorable outcome. If the costs for medical treatment or a disability are insufficient with PIP, this is where lawyers can help.
If you were injured in a car accident that was the fault of the other driver, the option exists to move beyond PIP. a personal injury lawsuit goes directly to the party responsible for actually causing the injury. If the case is won, then their insurance company will cover any additional medical coverage, disability, or even pain and suffering costs associated with the accident.
Talk to an experienced auto accident attorney in Florida to find out how to recover the costs you are entitled to as an accident victim.